the second greatest story ever told

My older son came along to pick up a Papa John’s pizza. On the drive home it occurred to me that a two-year-old might not understand the nature of this little transaction, so I spelled it out for him in simple terms.

“Again?” he asked.

“You want to hear it again?” I asked.  “Alright.”  As I repeated the pizza-ordering process he echoed every line, enthusiasm mounting until we reached the climax.

“Again?” he asked.

By the time we were home he could voice the entire thing with me fluently:

This is how it works: when you get hungry you say, “Hmm, I think I want a pizza.”  So you call the store and say, “Please make me a pizza.”  And the store makes you a pizza with bread, tomatoes and cheese – that’s a pizza! Then you drive to the store and say, “Where’s my pizza?”  They say, “Here it is!”  So you give them money, and they give you the pizza. Then you drive home and you eat it!

What about this story delighted him so much? I suspect it was the first lengthy how-to narrative he’d ever heard. It spelled out a single process from start to finish, a process he had experienced it with me.

How astounding it must be, hearing words paint the first full story in your mind.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “the second greatest story ever told”

  1. the forester Says:

    Or maybe the boy just loves pizza.

  2. Howard Says:

    I think he likes pizza. As for me, I like the story.
    :-)

  3. RubeRad Says:

    Kids like process, and of course repetition. I bet he would similarly enjoy a “story” about how to get dressed “First you get underwear out of this drawer, then you sit down, put your legs in the holes, stand up, and pull them up. Then from this drawer, you find a shirt, and …”

  4. the forester Says:

    I bet he would similarly enjoy a “story” about how to get dressed

    Yes, I’ve been capitalizing on his enthusiasm and keeping his brain cells working by explaining other how-to processes. It must be very empowering for him, understanding step-by-step how adults do something in the real world.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

